Againstiflow Does ATL

Posted: December 25, 2013 in Faith
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Recently, I started a new job in north Atlanta in the suburb of Kennesaw.  I just wrapped up my first week of work and everything went pretty well. The atmosphere at my new office is very team oriented which I love. The people at the office are very nice and I have enjoyed working with them and more importantly getting to know them. I have been praying for opportunities to be able to have that awkward conversation with them. The one about faith that, in today’s culture, everyone shies away from. I want to get to know them on a deeper level than the typical coworker relationship. I think It will help everyone personally in terms of their growth and it would also help our working relationship in the office.

I did have one instance when I was taken back by one of the ladies in the office. It was my first day and I was walking around to meet everyone and one of the older ladies said, “We are all Christians around here. Are you Christian?” Before giving me the opportunity to answer she asked me, “Or are you Jewish?” I was shocked that she was so straightforward in asking me about my beliefs and even more shocked she didn’t even give me a chance to answer her question before asking another one. Honestly, as a Christian, I was not happy with the way she handled our introduction. I am happy that she did it with me because even though at first I didn’t take it well I was able to brush it off. I was thinking…What if I wasn’t a Christian? What if I was on the fence with my faith? How would I have taken what she had said? For me, her comments would have turned me off. Her comments made me think that she felt that Christians were better and on a higher level then people of other religions. We aren’t called to put ourselves on a high horse and talk down to others who have different views. We are called to love on everyone no matter their religious affiliation.

If it was me I would never ask that question. One of my favorite quotes is by St. Francis, “Preach the gospel at all times, and when necessary, use words.” The way that I am approaching my new relationships in ATL is to act out my faith and hopefully people will notice.  I have faith that God will bless me with opportunities to have real conversations with my coworkers and that He will bless me with the ability to take advantage of them when they present themselves.

I have been living with my aunt, uncle, and 2 little cousins until I can find a place for myself or with a roommate. Living with them has been a huge blessing. My little cousins are pumped to have me there to hang out with them. On the first night, I walked in and the little one ran and jumped into my arms. It was awesome. The older one is a freshman in high school. He has taken me to where he works out and we have been working out together. He is really dedicated to becoming a better athlete and I am going to do my best to help him reach his potential. I love being around my cousins, but with that comes pressure. I know that everything that I do and say has an effect on them. They are taking notes on everything that I do and say. In one week, I have noticed them picking up on my sayings and different mannerisms. I am thankful for the opportunity to be able to pour into them and show them the againstiflow lifestyle.

Living life against the flow!

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

Leave a Reply

