The Morning Owl

Posted: December 28, 2013 in Fitness, Fun
Tags: , , , , , ,

ImageLast night I was feeling good and I had a lot of energy so I got in a workout from about 10 to 10:30 PM. I have always been a “night owl” and I usually get a lot of work done at night. I feel like that is also when I do my best thinking. We started discussing whether it is better to exercise/work late at night or get up and do this early in the morning. Here are a few things to think about.

Happy Hormones

During an exercise or a workout your body releases several hormones. These hormones (serotonin and endorphins) are responsible for giving you that good, happy feeling you have after and during a workout. That along with the adrenaline rush will get your day off to a great start. So as far as exercise goes you should replace your morning coffee with 20-30 minutes of exercise. If you exercise late at night you will not sleep as well and you will have a tough time waking up in the morning. This brings us to our next topic…

Morning People

I can speak to this right now as I am writing this blog. I worked out late last night and this morning has not been pleasant. With that being said…people who go to bed early and wake up early are much more optimistic and have a brighter outlook on the day ahead. They feel like they have been productive before they even get to work or go to class.

Quiet Time

My night owl ways are slowly coming to an end and I can see the morning owl taking me over. Most of the time when I get a moment to myself it is late at night. If I choose to read or write in my journal it takes about 10 minutes and then my eyes begin to weigh 100 lbs. Whether you are planning out your day, your week, setting goals, or spending time with God it is better to do these things in the morning. This way they are fresh on your mind throughout the entire day. The night owl does these things and then wakes up to only have forgotten half of what he read or wrote. The morning owl has the whole day to process these thoughts and also gets a feeling of accomplishment before the day has even begun.

If you are a night owl, like me, I challenge you to try to change your ways. It is not an easy process and I guarantee that you will not want to get out of bed those first few weeks. I was once told it takes 3 months to create a habit and 6 months to break a habit. So…although you might fail at getting up a few mornings do not let that discourage you from winning the war. I am in this with you and if I can do it then I know you can do it. Plus, nothing good happens late at night….

Successful people are morning owls. Live against the flow and let’s be successful.

Note:  I just realized I did not put on a belt to go to work. If I was a morning owl that would never have happened. I guess my jacket is staying on all day.

Leave a Reply

