Are you ready??

Posted: April 11, 2014 in Faith
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Everyone would agree that some of the most elite athletes such as Tiger Woods, Kevin Durant, and Derek Jeter have worked extremely hard to get where they are today. But they didn’t just wake up and say, I’m going to be a professional athlete one day BOOM. Each one of them had to put in hours of hard work, grit, perseverance, determination, focus, discipline, application and many other traits to attain the position and platform they now have. With that being said, sports are one of the main things we as Americans associate ourselves with on a daily basis, especially dudes. Our day: Wake up, turn on ESPN then go most of the day scrolling through various webpages on different sports and sporting events. On the weekends we attend some of the biggest and loudest football games one could imagine. Sports are some of the greatest ways to bring friends and families together, but they can also teach us a lot about different things in life.

Being a sports junky, analogies like this one I’m about to tell you are so prevalent to my walk with Christ and hopefully will be influential for your walk with Christ. Growing up I have always been around some type of sport or attending a sporting event. It has been my life, my escape, a way for me to express myself, and a way for me to be challenged at the same time. All in all, not the easiest of rides though. I have dealt with many ups and downs along the way. Sometimes frustration gets to you while other times you cannot seem to miss a shot out there and the game is just…. easy. In the end, sports have shown me a lot about how to have a successful walk with my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

To play any sport, practice and preparation are necessary. This is the same in our walk with Jesus. God asks us as servants of Him (2 Timothy) to be fully equipped for every good work. If I am not preparing and building on an area of my game on a consistent basis I will fall in tricky places throughout competition. The same goes for our walk with Jesus. We must work to consistently and intentionally be filling our mind with the good word, taking next steps, and seeking Godly community around us to hold us accountable. We are in awe when Tiger Woods makes a putt to win or Kevin Durant makes a game winner, but do you know how many hours of preparation these guys have put into their job? What if we practice living for Jesus like these professional athletes practice for a game or tournament? We would be hitting game winners almost every week and be on Heaven ESPN top ten. My point is, to be successful in living an AGAINSTIFLOW lifestyle, changes and hard work are mandatory. The work can be hard, but the end results are priceless.

I’ve seen it in my own life when I’m clicking on all cylinders and able to really feel a connection with Jesus. I’ve seen the power of one or two guys encouraging me and the impact that can have. It is a powerful spirit that can really help you overcome any thoughts or things the world throws at you. And the thing is, it’s totally possible for all of us to live fired up for Jesus on a consistent basis. So let’s break it down in the Holy huddle and start feeding off each other. Time for us to stop waiting and wishing for a perfect pitch and shift our attention on preparing ourselves for the pitch we think we can’t hit. That’s the name of the game. As always, live life against the flow, “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” -Romans 12:2

Are you ready??

Comments

Leave a Reply

