Fear

Posted: August 28, 2014 in Faith, Fitness
Tags: , , ,

The other day I was feeling tired and sluggish after work…I was not aware of how obvious that was until my roommate and his girlfriend, with concerned looks on their faces, asked me if I was ok. Of course I responded with, “Yea, I am fine! Do I look tired?” As I quickly perked up and began to fake my okayness. As bad and as tired as I felt at that moment I knew I needed to get some exercise. To be honest I think I was as tired because I had not exercised in a few days. If you know me that is not normal and my body obviously had no clue what was going on. Working my full time job, trying to start a side business, and trying to grow Againstiflow have consumed my life! But I love every bit of it and I am really excited about the direction all of these are heading.

So here I am after work…tired, but in serious need of exercise. How was I going to make myself go for a run? As any person would I turned to YouTube. I remembered one day coming across a video that just absolutely fired me up! I searched the word “Fear” in YouTube and there it was: (if you are receiving this via email you cannot see the video…go to the website)

I mean if that doesn’t get you fired up I don’t know what will. As the nearly 9 minute video played out I felt more and more like I was ready to hit the pavement for a nice run. This tactic worked and I ran 3 miles that evening. After my run I ate dinner and then met with some againstiflow guys to discuss the future of this thing. I was not tired and I now had more energy than I had all day…except maybe right after my first cup of coffee earlier that morning.

Now so far this has been a good story…and I hope you enjoyed the video, but what does it have to do with anything?

Our last Instagram photo had a quote that said, “My greatest fear is not that I am inadequate. My greatest fear is that I am powerful beyond measure because my God is powerful beyond measure.” I actually got that quote from the above video, but I added “because my God is powerful beyond measure.” Why did I add that? I added that because I would be nothing without my God. He brought me from darkness to light and continues to lead me forward in life. When I came home exhausted I still knew that I needed to exercise…I knew it would be good for me at that moment. Although, it would have been much easier to lay on the couch and take a nap. In our pursuit of what the Lord is calling us to do in life sometimes the easier thing to do would be to stay right where we are. That is because sometimes God asks us to do things that are hard…uncomfortable…and challenging. The wise thing to do would be to follow God where he is calling us to go. The evil one will do everything in his power to turn us the other way. After I ran 3 miles I had more energy and felt more alive than I had all day. If we follow what God is calling us to do…even though it might be scary and seem impossible…we will feel more alive than we ever have in our life.

The only thing I fear in life is me being scared to put my full trust in God. I fear that His plan for me is so great that if I don’t follow Him and trust Him completely that I will miss out on something that is “powerful beyond measure.”

We have already seen life change and seen God’s work within Againstiflow. A quote from one Againstiflow member pretty much sums it up, “If Againstiflow were to fall to shambles today then that is fine because God has already used it to do its part.”

Joshua 1:9 says, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

Leave a Reply

