AgainstiTravels | New York City, The Brooklyn Tabernacle, and Hillsong NYC

Posted: September 22, 2015 in Faith
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Last Sunday, I was up in NYC visiting my cousin. One of the main reasons that I made the trip up north was to go to a service at the Brooklyn Tabernacle. Why the Brooklyn Tabernacle? I was in a Bible Study with six close buddies a couple of years ago and we went through a book called Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit. Spirit Rising was written by Jim Cymbala who is the Senior Pastor at the Tabernacle. It is a  great book! It really opened my eyes to the third, and often overlooked part of the Holy Trinity, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. One of the main themes of the book is to simply be aware and recognize the work of the Holy Spirit. It is constant and it is what Jesus left for us here on Earth.
It is hard for me to remember the last time that I’ve felt so much energy during a service. The choir was massive. It had to have over a hundred people in it and they were good…. VERY GOOD. It was a different kind of energy and dynamic then I’m used to in a service. I’ve grown used to rock and roll church with mics, electric guitars, and drums, but the Tabernacle was nothing like it. It had some background music to guide the choir and the congregation, but the music was often drowned out by the power and volume of all the voices. It was a very emotional service. There were points I was so fired up that I had goosebumps and points when I was nearly brought to tears from everything that was going on in the service. It was very powerful. If you are ever in NYC you’ve got to make the trek over to Brooklyn to check out a service.
Later on that day I went to a service at Hillsong NYC. It meets at the Best Buy theater right off of Times Square. The walk up to the theater was very interesting… as I’m sure you can imagine if you’ve ever walked through Times Square. I walked right past the infamous Naked Cowboy playing a guitar, girls that were only wearing body paint, and a huge group of mascots. If you know me well then you know that I used to be terrified of mascots! The service at Hillsong was amazing and kind of mind blowing to me. The band was playing all the latest Hillsong jams and Carl Lentz touched on Romans 12:2 in his sermon…#Againstiflow. Pastor Lentz brings alot of energy in his messages and he has a passion for bringing the Gospel to the people of NYC.
If you’ve never been to NYC you’ve got to make a trip at least once in your life. It’s huge, fast, and dirty. I can’t wait to go back.
#againstitravels
Leave a Reply

